Is PR Right For Me? The big decision

It’s now towards the end of the academic year. And with these last few weeks the deadlines are getting closer, concentration levels are dwindling and the stress is piling. 

Flickr – Collegedegrees360

Currently my motivation levels seem to enjoy rising towards the more ungodly hours of the morning – my brain seems to find inspiration at 3am or 4am nowadays.

With essays, presentations, exam revision and evaluations taking up more and more of my time I got thinking: what kind of person do you need to be to do PR?

Organised – Especially at these deadlines points of the degree it pays to be organised with your time and to-do lists. But in a day-to-day PR job I think organisation is key because there’s so little time to do so many things. Because PR is so complex you have to plan your hours well in advance so that you’re covering everything.

Flexible – Any PR is going to face a crisis at some point and often they pop up with very little warning, you need to be able to bend your plans around solving the crisis (because unfortunately we can’t add more hours to the day).

Flickr – Collin Key

Dedicated – Practitioners that I’ve spoken with have warned me of the hours after working hours – often it’s office 9am-5pm then on until 8pm or 9pm doing tasks at home or continually responding to clients while you’re ‘off-duty’. Generally, if you’re looking for a job you can leave at the office once the clock hits 5pm then PR is not for you.

Honest – There’s various approaches to ethical dilemmas – who is your loyalty to: employer or society? It’s difficult to always be 100% honest to every involved party when a story or situation arises. But you need to be able to be honest with yourself. If something doesn’t sit right then you need to have the guts to approach the problem. Don’t convince yourself something is alright when it really just eats away at you.

I’m not a full-time PR practitioner yet (although I’m incredibly excited for this to happen) so my views aren’t necessarily founded on the greatest of foundations. I’m intrigued to look back on this blog after a few years in the industry to see if my views change. But these are the four things I hope I still am, even after 30 or 40 years on the job.

2 thoughts on “Is PR Right For Me? The big decision

  1. I am also not technically a full-time PR practitioner yet but hope to be one when I get a job in the next few months! I agree with all 4 of your points and think you will definitely look back on this post and feel the same way 30 or 40 years down the line. Hopefully you will be able to add many more points to this list after having actual work experience in PR. This is kind of connected to being dedicated but I am going to add passion to your list. You need to have passion for this industry and the work in order to be successful. From everything I have heard and learned, PR is no easy job. Therefore passion is needed to help us get through those tough days. I enjoyed this post and look forward to reading more. Good luck in everything you do!

    • Thanks for your comment!
      Definitely agree, it does seem like PR is a stressful and complex juggling and anyone will need to be passionate about it to keep on top of everything.
      Good luck with everything you do too, hopefully we both remain passionate despite those tough days!

Leave a Reply

